Leibster Award! Thank you, Mark Green!

liebster-award

I would like to give a huge thank you (and shout out) to Mark Green at Atheopaganism for nominating me for the Liebster Award! The award is given to bloggers who have less than 200 subscribers whom the nominator feels is worthy of others’ attention. I consider Atheopaganism to be a very well run, thought-provoking blog, so this is really an honor.

Once awarded, the recipient must follow these rules:

1.Thank the person who nominated and link back to their blog
2.Display the Liebster Award on your blog
3.Share 11 random facts about yourself
4.Answer the 11 questions you were asked
5.Nominate 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers for the award, by asking them 11 new questions (or having them answer the questions you were asked)
6..Make sure to let the bloggers know you’ve nominated them!
7.And don’t forget to copy the rules into your post!

So, here are 11 random facts about myself:

  1. I’m still not “out” with respect to my faith, save to a select few. Generally don’t see a reason to be.
  2. I was pretty active in the pagan community back home, but since moving have had less time to be active aside from online groups. (Shout out to Acadiana Spiritual Association)
  3. I am a grad student in Psychology.
  4. I went scuba diving at 12 and drowned at the bottom of a 70ft-deep spring.
  5. I love to kayak!
  6. I can’t wait to have chickens and spend lots of time in the Rocky Mountains.
  7. I can make me a roux, cher (and lots of other good things).
  8.  I can play a few things on the guitar, and I miss writing and drawing.
  9. I enjoyed discussing things in religion class in Catholic school (and I am eternally grateful to all the teachers that were never harsh and usually supportive when I had “out there” ideas or asked challenging questions).
  10. I was an elementary teacher, education is one of my highest values, and I like Common Core.
  11. I am the happiest I’ve ever been, the poorest I’ve ever been, and, independent of those two things, also completely in love (which seems to make the happiness ever happier).

The 11 questions I was asked:

1. What got you started with your blog?
I had been back home (after graduating college) for a while, where there was less religious diversity. I was looking for others with whom to talk things over. I discovered the online Kemetic community, and decided that might be a way to join and have conversations.

2. Post a link to your favorite blog post you have written and explain why it is your favorite.
The Gods of the Land: because it was filled with emotion, for me. I felt like I had really connected to the Netjeru in a way I never had before, in a way that seemed a tad more valid than other experiences.

Also, Ma’at: The word that escapes us and Hut in the Forest: I have grown a lot in my practice since these posts, but these posts stirred the thoughts that made some of the foundations of what I believe. In working through my agnosticism, in finding the courage to create a path that is mine and with which I am comfortable, these posts helped me to get there the most.

3. What is your favorite color?
Tourquoise and/or that red/orange autumn color

4. Where do you get inspiration to blog?
From things that happen to me, things I read, or things I wish I understood better. Writing about it helps me to sort things out. I’ll also “log” experiences that I have and come back to them (like the Lent stuff…which I still do every day but have had to stop blogging about temporarily).

5. Where would you like to travel that you haven’t travelled to yet?
South America, Japan, Southern Europe, Middle East, India

6. What was your favorite book or movie as a child?

I was an avid Roald Dahl fan, and my favorite book was The Little Prince.

7. What is your favorite season and why?
Autumn. Down here, the humidity is low, the cooler temperature is a relief from the summer, and this creates a “magical” feeling in the air. Plus, I like the holidays that occur in the fall.

8. Any goals for your blog?

I’d like there to be more discussion about the things I post or link to, mostly because I’d like to learn more from others/connect with others. I have to say, I do have some pretty regular commentors and people who “like” my posts, and I really appreciate it! They keep me going.

9. Do you have a bucket list? What is number 1?
To live in the country (simple pleasures, I know)

10. Favorite thing to blog about?
Something positive I’ve learned

11. What’s your dream job?
Consultant (what I’m going to school for) or a park ranger (or anything where I can be outside and do research on nature)

Here are the 11 I nominate (I’ll have to add more as I find them; some may not display how many followers they have, so I will try my best to follow the rules):

Carrying Their Light

Enyuki’s Embers

Faith and Belief

Kemetic Vs. Atheist

Admittedly, I don’t follow many blogs (particularly ones that have less than 200). But, as I remember/find more, I’ll add them here! 😀

Thanks again!

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Louise Pare-Lobinske
    Feb 20, 2016 @ 15:54:18

    Congratulations on the award!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

